A long and busy month of April

I logged on and saw that my last post was over a month ago. I wasn’t surprised, things got busy as life tends to do and time at the computer was the first thing to go. As it stands I am writing this on my phone, while sitting under a sleeping baby.

Yes, our family is now one more, I am a proud mama of 4. Baby Michael arrived on the 23rd March. Born at home, pretty quickly. He beat the midwife, caught by daddy while the older 3 were downstairs in the living room.

It’s been a bit of a whirlwind since, A and J have their commitments, climbing, ice skating, photography etc that continued. We have enjoyed lots of time with Ryan being home, paternity leave followed by the Easter long weekend. We have visited several woodland areas, English heritage sites and had other days out. Getting used to getting out the door on time with everyone has been a learning experience in itself. A new baby brings lots of practical learning opportunities and increased independence.

The older children have been building their photography skills. Both are doing well. J especially has really developed an eye, he will take a photo of a patch of stinging nettles from such an angle with lighting that really makes you stop and admire them in ways I never thought I would. He has developed the patience to sit and wait for the perfect shot whilst watching the herons nesting, able to catch on camera the moment an adult heron returns to it’s waiting chick. We have decided to enter some of his photographs into a wildlife photography competition.

We are looking forward to our first trip of the year. A weekend to Norfolk, which will include a visit to spot the seals and allow more photography oppprtunities and a trip to bewilderwood. Then driving across and up past Birmingham.  We will visit a military vehicle museum, Alton towers, Cadbury world and more. Following the theory that learning is everywhere and stepping away from the idea that education has to be seperate to fun, which is a rather disturbing and disheartening view that many seem to hold.

Around us through April once again the subject of schools came up, specifically? Nursery places for N. Friends and acquaintances were finding out which places their children had been given, excitement, disappointment and worry covered my social media. I saw the increase in posts on the early years home ed groups as others were not allocated appropriate places, while in other parenting groups I see parents asking for advice on where to buy the smallest school uniforms. I wondered if I would feel like we were missing something, but I’ve watched N, I’ve seem him interacting with so many people, mastering so many skills and gaining knowledge and there’s nothing but certainty and peace with our decision. I am glad that I can continue to enjoy my spring and summer, our time together isn’t on any kind if countdown. We have so much time, so many adventures ahead of us, bringing nothing but excitement.

One thought on “A long and busy month of April

Leave a Reply

